The 마지막 어드벤쳐 in Korea


Ernest Hemingway said, “it is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end”.

I have few weeks left in Korea, before I head back to my country. There is a feeling of happiness as well as sadness.

When I came to Korea, I did not have any expectation. I had never learnt Korean before. I did not know anything about Korean culture. I learnt everything about Korea in Korea.

Like all foreign students, I had my share of ups and downs in Korea.

I had to attend Korean language institute before going to university. Those were the best days of my life in Korea. I was in control of my life. However, good times do not last forever.

The trouble started, when I joined college and had to attend classes which were taught in Korean. I could not understand a thing. I had to study on my own. Now that I think about it, I have no idea how I managed to survive. I consider myself fortunate to have friends who helped me during those difficult times.

I have so many people to thank who helped and supported me throughout my journey. I will miss them.

iseoulyou

Thanks to Korea that I got to do so many amazing things:

  • learning a new language (Korean).
  • riding the T-express, one of the top 5 steepest wooden roller-coasters in the world.
  • doing Bungee Jumping for the first time.
  • kayaking in the Chuncheon lake.
  • getting ears pierced.
  • participating in the temple-stay twice.
  • working as a Korean-English Interpreter for the 37th World Youth Rally.
  • going to 2014 Asan Rock Music Festival where Noel Gallagher performed.
  • meeting Aaron Ciechanover, Israeli Nobel Prize winner when he visited Seoul.
  • eating Sannakji (live octopus).
  • going to Dokdo (controversial island claimed by both Korea and Japan).
  • travelling to Japan and Singapore.
  • making friends from every continent except Antarctica.
  • living in one of the most expensive cities in the world, Seoul.

These past few years in Korea have been the most amazing years of my life. I experienced so much and learnt so much.  My horizons have broadened. This is not the end of my adventure. I am going home, but I think my next adventure will begin soon.

I am excited.

 

Leave a Reply

