I ♥ SG


When it is summer in Korea, and you have been living here for a long time, things get pretty boring. I wanted to get away. Luckily, I had time and money. I decided to visit Singapore for my summer trip. My Colombian friend also wanted to go. We had limited budget, and we had to plan the trip well. So, we chose Malaysian Airlines, because the tickets were cheaper. We also made the hotel reservations early.

On 16th August, we boarded the flight to Singapore from South Korea. It took us 8 hours to reach our destination, because we had a transit flight in Malaysia. We had no difficulty in finding our way from the Changi Airport to our hotel.The MRT railway system of Singapore is very convenient.  We bought the EZ-Link card  at the airport station. The card allows you to use the trains and buses all around Singapore. We took the train from the airport and arrived at our hotel in the evening.

day1The next day, we began our sight-seeing. First, we went to Raffles Place. It is like a corporate jungle of Singapore. We saw the famous Merlion which is the official mascot of Singapore. From the Merlion Park, we walked to the Marina Bay Sands and Gardens By The Bay. Gardens By The Bay is truly a man-made paradise. We also visited the Singapore Flyer. In the evening, we went to the Buddha Tooth Relic Temple which is located in the China Town. The temple is filled with beautiful statues. We had dinner at a hawker centre near the temple.

day2

We went to the Singapore Zoo next morning. There were so many exotic animals in the zoo. I got to see Sting ray, Proboscis Monkey, Tapir, White Tiger, Pygmy Hippo, Koala, Komodo Dragon, Orangutan, Green Anaconda and many more. The zoo is very well organized. We then visited the Kong Meng San Phor See Monastery. It is the largest Buddhist temple in Singapore. We had dinner in the Little India.

day3

Sentosa was our next destination. We boarded the Sentosa Express to go to Universal Studios Singapore Theme Park. We arrived there at noon. We paid for the tickets with MasterCard, so we got 10% off. Universal Studios was amazing. My most favourite ride was the Battlestar Galactica: Cylon. I did not know that it is the tallest dueling rollercoaster in the world. We were at the front seats. I thought I was going to die. It was literally mind-blowing. I also enjoyed Revenge of the Mummy ride and the Tranformers ride. We had a great time. No trip to Singapore is complete without a visit to Universal Studios Singapore.

day4

For the last day, we went to the Singapore National Museum where they had ’50 Made in Singapore Products Exhibition’.  We also visited Singapore Art Museum. In the afternoon, we paid a visit to St. Joseph’s Parlour of Repose. We saw some amazing artworks at ION Art Gallery. We took a lift to 55th Level of the ION Sky from where we were able to see the vastness of Singapore. At night, we headed to the airport. There was a feeling of sadness as well as happiness. On 21st August, I was back in South Korea.

I will miss everything about Singapore, but the one thing that I will miss the most is food. There are so many options when it comes to food in Singapore. Each food has its own unique taste. Food is not expensive at all. I wish Korea had food centres where I can eat any kind of food at affordable prices. I can eat Singaporean curry puffs all day long. The noodles taste so much better. I can go on and on about the Singaporean food, and that would not be enough.


food

There are so many wonderful places in Singapore. We could not visit all of them. Singapore is amazing. Everything comes together in Singapore: Culture, People, Nature, Cuisine and Technology. That is why it is my favourite country in Southeast Asia.

If you visit Asia, you must visit Singapore. People are generous, food is delicious, and everything is well organized. I bet you will love Singapore.

Thank you Singapore for being so wonderful. Majulah Singapura!

I♥SG

One thought on “I ♥ SG

  1. Pingback: How Minimalism Changed my Life? | RaJess' Living an Adventure

Leave a Reply

